Freedom at Last!

Finally, I am free to write my blog on my own! No textbook requirements, scholarly guidelines, or stringent stress to meet a deadline. So from now on I will be writing about my life, my passions, my random whims.

A recent love of mine is anything by Beth Moore. I know, I’m a little late on the train. This semester my mom has been doing a group bible study with Beth Moore and calls me after every session, telling me what hilarious stories Beth told and what inspiring passage from the bible I should focus on that week. After weeks of these tantalizing stories, I broke down, went to Barnes and Noble, and bought Jesus, the One and Only. Amazing. Here is an inspiring poem from the introduction that reiterated to me that God truly is the center of all the mysteries in my life:

He is Jesus.

The One and Only.

Transcendent over all else.

To know Him is to love Him.

To love Him is to long for Him.

To long for Him is to finally reach

soul hands into the One true thing

we need never get enough of.

Jesus.

Take all you want.

Take all you need.

Till soul is fed.

And spirit freed.

Till dust is dust.

And Face you see.

Jesus Christ.

He’s all you need.

 I’m not quite finished with the book but I just ordered her new book on CD, So Long, Insecurity you’ve been a bad friend to us so I can listen to it in my car. I’m so excited!!

Well, so long for now. I hope you enjoy my new, free writing! 🙂

One thought on “Freedom at Last!

  1. Hi Katie,

    I am glad that you will continue blogging as it is an excellent skill to have and a great addition to your academic portfolio. You were certainly encouraged to write about your life and passions this semester using a scholarly framework but I am pleased that you find even greater freedom in sharing your thoughts in a more personal, less structured way.

Leave a Reply

