pilates, barbie beach vacation, and surprise chocolate cake

What a day, what a day! Although it started out rather boring… and kind of depressing, to be honest, this day has certainly turned out better than expected. Pretty good surprise for a Monday, eh?!

This morning I was blue… literally. Our house was FREEEEZING because I forgot to turn on the heater last night. Shivering, I made my way downstairs, covered myself with three blankets, and attempted to work. Nothing could hold my attention. Although I have quite a bit to do for my little contract jobs, I was bored to death, which can really make a girl gloomy. My mom, also downstairs working (she is quite the little trader… the stock market kind), could tell I was antsy, and kept trying to help (which sometimes makes it worse), and came up with a brilliant idea. PILATES! Already sore from my workout with Katie the night before, I wasn’t the best workout buddy… and we both tend to laugh more during the workout than doing the actual exercises… anyways, it put me in a pretty good mood–working out usually does. So there’s good thing number one.

Then I coached tennis, which was fun because it is week one of the last session of the year and I got to meet lots of new, fun kiddos! I was really really dreading Spanish class because… yuck, but there were three exciting surprises awaiting me there. 1) my teacher brought her daughter’s Barbie beach vacation set, complete with lounge chair, sail boat, hut, Barbie, friend, and Ken. Sweet! Here’s a pic.

2) This girl who is impressively fluent in Spanish, volunteered to get up in front of the class and sing a song in Spanish. You know, that “no one can get in the way of how I feel for you” song. I think it’s Alicia Keys. I don’t really know the name, but it sounded really pretty in Spanish! And she was a great singer. And 3) If that wasn’t enough, I got a really good grade on my test that I took last week, so it looks like I’m going t”o fo sho” graduate next month!! I don’t want to jinx myself, but I am SO excited!

On the way home, I listened to oldies which made me happy and forget how sleepy I was due to the dumb time change.  The song that goes, “there she was just a walkin’ down the street, singin’ doo-wa-diddy-diddy-dum-diddy-doo” came on. Now there’s a song that will get stuck in your head! I was making Sing faces all the way down 121. Pi Phi would be proud. 🙂 I was really craving something sweet when I got home, but we never keep anything yummy in the house so I didn’t have my hopes up as I opened the pantry and fridge. To my surprise, I spied a black takeout box. Expecting some sort of meat, I opened it, butttttt there was chocolate cake!

MMMHMM! My dad brought it home from his business dinner and saved it just for me! He sure knows how to win my heart! 🙂

But now I’m off to bed. I think I’ll turn on the heater, watch a few episodes of How I Met Your Mother or maybe Friends, my absolute favorite, hopefully fall asleep quickly, and wake up warm and cozy tomorrow morning for another good day. Goodnight!

Love,
Katie

Leave a Reply

