attack of the scones!

I’m not usually a scone kind of girl but tonight I discovered a totally different girl. And a totally different scone. The only scones I have ever tried were from Starbucks but never homemade, which I hear is what makes all the difference. The roommate and I made white chocolate lemon pecan scones that I found on this blog. Yum.

They aren’t quite as pretty as the scones in the blog but hey, we tried. And we added cinnamon. We are such chefs!

The scone making idea began this morning around 11:00 am. It was a rough day and unlike normal people who feel like running, yelling, shopping, or eating when they are stressed or upset, I bake. Or cry. Thanks to my plan, I wasn’t tempted so terribly to do the latter. Baking makes me calm, forces me to concentrate on measuring the ingredients, kneading the dough, monitoring the baking time. Baking is my form of venting. That is why, after running errands and browsing for wheat flour at the local Tom Thumb, Torie and I came home and baked scones. Hours later, and a few minor setbacks, including violently burning the “toasted” pecans, Tor and I split a scone.

Yup, we split one which means LOTS of leftovers. Any takers? 🙂

And the beat goes on…

-Katie

2 thoughts on “attack of the scones!

Leave a Reply

