speed bumps

Sometimes things work out just as you plan and other times they don’t. Either way, life works out just the way it is supposed to and we are better for it in the end. Thankfully, we have friends and family to guide us over the speed bumps.

This past weekend more than one thing went awry: bad haircut, forgot to pay the rent, brother didn’t show up to go to the Rangers game, forgot to bring my running shoes to Frisco, had to wear my brother’s old Abercrombie belt to church because I left mine in Dallas… the list could go on but I’m not going to bore you with the uninteresting details. Nothing went wrong, per say, it just didn’t go according to my plan.

Some people are good at going with the flow. My brother, Tyler, is a prime example of this. He is awesome at relaxing and is never mad, upset, grumpy, or irritable about anything. Good for him.

I, however, do not share his talent.

One thing at a time didn’t go as I had planned and I got a little flustered. “I can’t wear this tacky belt with this dress to church!” “I can’t believe he isn’t driving back in time for the game.” You know the drill.

Event after event this quote by Faulkner kept creeping into my mind. At the time, I admit, I couldn’t quite remember it verbatim but I’ve looked it up for our benefit now.

“The last sound on the worthless earth will be two human beings trying to launch a homemade spaceship and already quarreling about where they are going next.” –William Faulkner

It’s important to slow your mind and live in the moment. I had a great time shopping with mom, even though I had to wear my hair in a ponytail to hide the scarecrow cut; not following my desired exercise plan wasn’t the end of the world (oh darn); I found that the ugly belt had no effect on my ability to worship God and celebrating our nation on Sunday; the baseball game with just mom and dad was a refreshing reminder of how important quality time with my parents is.

I wish I was still in school so I could hear my classmates’ brilliant takes on Faulkner’s words, but I’m not, so if you have something to add, please do comment! I’m not nearly as deep a thinker as I wish I were.

I imagine if Faulkner were talking to me today, he might say in a gruff southern accent (I don’t know why but that is how I picture him speaking), “Katie, don’t fret over the details of your day if all the big things are going just how they are meant to.” His words would, of course, be much more poetic than mine and be way more meaningful.

But back to my weekend.

As the parents and I were sweating it out at the Rangers game, a thought occurred to me. Dad’s old Nikon!

You see, my dad is a huge photography buff and used to have his own darkroom and everything. Monday morning I coaxed him to digging through all of his cabinets and drawers until he found it, and made a pretty good mess of his closet. Oops. But there it was, a very old, very heavy, but very cool Nikon camera. I spent the rest of the day buying film and making my 21-year-old brother swing on a playground so I could practice taking an action shot and trying to focus my camera on a butterfly before it fluttered to the next flower and learning what an f-stop is and taking film to get developed and learning that it takes a week and 7 bucks and a lot of patience and, and, and … phew!

Then I got to spend the evening meeting new people and watching SIX (promise, Hailee) firework shows from afar on a balcony in Grapevine.

Torie and I got home pretty late and for the first time she pulled a grandma and beat me to bed.

Despite a few minor hiccups, I had an incredible weekend. I am so blessed to have great friends and family who love and care about me and, most importantly, know and look past my weaknesses to get me over the speed bumps on life’s winding road.

Happy 5th of July everyone!

And the beat goes on,

Katie

Leave a Reply

