we gather together

We gather together to ask the Lord’s blessing;
He chastens and hastens His will to make known.
The wicked oppressing now cease from distressing.
Sing praises to His Name; He forgets not His own.

Beside us to guide us, our God with us joining,
Ordaining, maintaining His kingdom divine;
So from the beginning the fight we were winning;
Thou, Lord, were at our side, all glory be Thine!

We all do extol Thee, Thou Leader triumphant,
And pray that Thou still our Defender will be.
Let Thy congregation escape tribulation;
Thy Name be ever praised! O Lord, make us free!

This is the song that my aunt Gail proclaimed that we would all have to memorize to earn this year’s Thanksgiving feast. I will admit that, at first, I was a little frustrated. “I don’t have time for this stuff,” I thought to myself. “I dont’ have to earn Thanksgiving dinner if I am bringing the corn casserole. I’ll just eat my corn and skip the song and the rest of the meal so HA, I showed them!” As I thought these ugly musings to myself, I felt ashamed and so I downloaded We Gather Together from a kid’s Thanksgiving album on Zune, printed the words, and started studying.

At first I just thought it was an annoying old-fashioned hymn but after about the 11th listen, the lyrics really began to speak to me. Gathering together to ask the Lord’s blessing isn’t just something we do on a yearly basis, but we wake up and ask it every day. I usually take such a prayer for granted and move on with my day, but the Dutch song writer, Adrianus Valerius, takes the concept further, praising the Lord as their Leader and Defender and gives Him all the glory for the Dutch victory over the Spanish oppressors.

Valerius also proclaims that with God, the battle against evil was won from the beginning, which is a concept that I often forget in my daily fight against Satan.

I could analyze each line and word but that would be too much like a college essay so I will summarize by saying this: What I am most thankful for this year is family who cares enough to ask me to do silly things like memorize an old hymn. Thanks auntie Gail!

Man, I’m getting mature in my old age! 😉

P.S. I know I still owe yall more story and pictures from Seattle. I’ll get right on that! Happy Thanksgiving Eve!

Here’s the youtube video of another song that was on my new Thanksgiving Kids Songs album. Haha!

And so it goes,
Katie

One thought on “we gather together

Leave a Reply

