sprinting toward spring cleaning

Hi, my name is Katie. I am not a runner; I am not an eater of vegetables; I am not very self-disciplined and I do not enjoy things like sit-ups or crunches. I drink coffee and Coke Zero; My favorite foods are mashed potatoes, ice cream of any flavor, and chicken {which I only throw in there to make myself sound healthier because my real third favorite food is a gooey, warm chocolate chip cookie}; I worry, too much; Sitting down with a good book or episode of NCIS are my favorite pastimes beside sitting and writing on my blog, so sitting is a pretty big part of my life. For all of these reasons and more, I am inventing Spring Cleaning. Okay, okay, I didn’t invent spring cleaning, but I am determined to reinvent it to meet my needs.

Spring Equinox {any astronomy expert want to remind me what equinox is??} is this Tuesday, March 20th and I plan to take full advantage of this opportunity for a fresh start. Isn’t that what you think of when spring rolls around? I think of spring as a time for a time to exfoliate. You know, rub that fresh, gritty soap on your face to remove the dead skin? It sounds pretty gross but the results are nothing short of magical, ask any girl. This year, instead of just exfoliating my face, I plan to exfoliate my mind, body, and soul, from the inside out. No, I’m not going to swallow a load of Clinique Exfoliating Scrub, but I do have a plan.

Care to join me?

Here’s the plan, so far:

I will “spring clean” for one whole month, four weeks, focusing on these three aspects of my person: body, spirit, and mind.

And here’s how:

1. I start Camp Gladiator today and it lasts for four weeks. Camp Gladiator is a challenging boot camp that my roommate and I are signed up for. It always helps me when I set goals for myself to have a good accountability partner. And Torie is an excellent accountability partner. She will keep me focused and determined, and if all else fails, she knows to play toward my competitiveness. It is a good idea to have an accountability partner, especially one who cares about my well-being as much as Tor does. Plus, I’m in her wedding coming up in August so I’m sure she wants me to look good for that as well. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Kidding, Tor. So, that’s body.

2. This next one is kind of personalโ€“something you will have to personalize to your own needs. I know I don’t usually share serious personal stuff on my blog but I think that maybe this is an okay time to do it. You see, I have recently felt very convicted of leading a life of little faith. My faith gives my life purpose but lately, I have felt convicted of not trusting God with certain aspects in my life, specifically, finances. I need to clean this doubt out of my mind and plan to spend these four weeks doing just that. A pastor of my church said that “people of faith find life through trusting God,” and that “so often, God doesn’t save us from the fire, he sees us through it.” I can’t wait to give this burden to Jesus and get it off of my chest! So, that counts as mind and spirit.

3. So, there’s this thing called “eating healthy.” I’m not sure if you have ever heard of it…I sometimes act as if I never have. It’s pretty simple to avoid. This lifestyle usually leads to a feeling of general ickiness. It’s a tight jeans, head aching, swimsuit avoiding kind of world. Ergo the spring cleaning. I am hoping to leave these feelings in the dust and adapt a new way of living that involves, yep, you guessed it, vegetables. The green ones. Gross. Also, no ice cream, no cookies, no sweets at all. {Ugh, already I am starting to regret posting this.} No bread, no crackers, no pancakes. No cokes, only coffee {come on, I’ve gotta be realistic}. Sayonara Sonic Route 44 Coke Zero, here I come clean body and mind!

Now, people who know me also know that I have made similar resolutions before. What will keep me from ditching the plan and going back to the couch sitting, Oreo eating, and money worrying? Well, you, my friends! I know that if you all know what I am up to, my options are to either A) follow through or B) feel eternally embarrassed. I choose A. You guys are the best accountability partners ever! If I was a braver soul, I would add a before and after picture to the “body” aspect of the spring cleaning, but lucky for you, I’m not. ๐Ÿ™‚

I encourage anyone to join me. It is four weeks that will {hopefully} turn into lifetime habits. Let’s do it together! If you are starting some spring cleaning of your own, feel free to keep me updated throughout your journey. I would love to hear about it.

And so it goes,
Katie

P.S. As a warning, I tend to get a tad grumpy in my hunger, soreness, and really, in the beginning of anything that takes self-discipline. Please bear with me. And pray for my sweet roommate, Tortor, who will have to live with me through this difficult, but good, spring cleaning experience.

Days left in #SpringCleaning2012: 28

2 thoughts on “sprinting toward spring cleaning

  1. Wow! I can’t wait to meet the NEW and IMPROVED Katie – ha! And I will definately be praying for Torie since I have been your roommate during some of your other “spring cleaning” times, (I’m just kidding, you’re not that bad!) So proud of you for taking this challenge, but giving up Coke Zero….nope couldn’t do it!

  2. Expert astronomer here… sort of… well, more of a sort of I’ve-been-into-astronomy-since-I-was-six type of person, rather than an expert.

    First of all, sincerely, good luck ๐Ÿ™‚

    Secondly, equinox means, literally “equal nights” – it’s the time of year when the days and nights are of equal length – ie, about 12 hours long ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope that helps…

Leave a Reply

