macho profile: kevin brolan of dallasbasketball.com and WFAA Sports

Author’s Confession: My blog is kind of girly. What can I say, I’m a girl. So this week’s awesome guest blogger is for all you guys out there. Holla!

Kevin Brolan writes for dallasbasketball.com and for the sports page on WFAA. He attends all events basketball, baseball, soccer… let’s just say he pretty much owns the Dallas sports scene. If you are a sports fan, or just need some daily entertainment, follow his twitter @kevinbrolan. It is what I use to keep informed and {try to} sound cool when I {try} to talk to guys about sports. Is it just me or do yall think he is all that and a bag of chips too?!

Today, lucky for us, Kevin took a few moments away from being mister macho and wrote a blog to help us end the work week with a bang. It’s random, it’s quirky, and it’s going to crack you up. Enjoy!

…………

During a regular, standard weekday in one’s life, a single moment stands out among the rest as the worst of the 24 hours. There’s no way around it. Everyone has to do it and it’s miserable.
Waking up is simply the worst.

Obviously there are exceptions. Sleeping in on the weekend doesn’t count, as waking up with the weight of a full work day is the biggest trigger to this negative moment. Dragging yourself out of bed to head to your job is awful at any time of the day, but I recommend as early as possible if you want to feel the maximum amount of sadness as your alarm goes off. Then again five minutes later. And again.

You may be asking how I myself get fired up in order to take on the day. There isn’t much you can do to soften the blow that is waking up in the morning… but I will give you two tips: Catching early-morning showings of Boy Meets World and/or Home Improvement. (I’m sure you were already thinking that.)

To be clear, I highly recommend these shows at any time of any day, but is there a better time to see the face of Cory Matthews or Tim Taylor than when you need a pick me up? This council of one votes no. Allow me to diagram your morning based on when you wake up. Follow this strict early morning schedule and I guarantee you will most likely, probably have a better morning.

Three days a week I am up at 5:45 am. That is just enough time to get up, shake off the cobwebs a bit, throw a bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios together, and sit down for the 6:00 am Boy Meets World. Just make sure you have ABC Family (Channel 778 on Time Warner Cable) and be ready for Cory, Shawn, Topanga and the rest of the BMW gang to spark your day toward a productive start. Currently, the World rotation has started over and ABC Family is running episodes from the early days of the show. I cannot recommend these episodes highly enough.

20120330-110242.jpg

20120330-110248.jpg

5:45 too early for ya? No worries.

The rest of the week I am up by 6:15, where I run through the same routine and have myself seated on the couch by 6:30 in order to get my fill of Home Improvement. There is no better way to get your fill of wholesome family fun and a daily lesson from Wilson Wilson, Tim’s wise neighbor who always has some positive light to shed on any situation. If you find yourself in the 6:30 wake up time frame, make sure to have your television tuned into TBS, in HD on channel 744 for Time Warner. And I know you want Tim’s Tool Time assistant Heidi in High-Def. Right, guys? Amiright?

Side note: Fresh Prince of Bel-Air airs following Home Improvement. Also a good show, but just not in the same stratosphere as Home Improvement. Don’t get me started on arguing this.

I’m almost positive that this has been the least helpful article you’ve read in quite a while, but I promise you this routine is full of merit. Additionally, it will also catch you up on always relevant Boy Meets World/Home Improvement pop culture. Katie has her ‘Spring Cleaning’ routine and I have an early 90’s bad sitcom schedule that has me feeling ready to take on the world.

Only one has real value.

It’s hers.

…………

I hope everyone enjoyed Kevin’s wise words. Happy Freakin’ Friday!

And so it goes,
Katie

Leave a Reply

