hopefully healthy friday

You know how sometimes the universe just gives you a sign? Like, when I was in middle school and my favorite number was 9 and the number on the jersey of my favorite soccer player, Mia Hamm, was also 9 so, obviously, I was destined to be a professional soccer player. Or, when I was in the 9th grade and both me and {a certain boy who I had a major crush on} had last names that started with M, so we were, obviously destined to be together. Seriously, what kind of logic was that 15 year-old Katie?!? 
 
Well this is nothing like that. This is a real life sign, and I had better heed to it. I keep coming across all of these salmon recipes.
I interpret that as a great big “Helloooooo” from Mister/Misses Universe. “Wake up, and be healthy, Katie!”
I do not like fish. It tastes so…fishy. But this must be a sign that my now grownup taste buds have bloomed and that I will magically fall in love with salmon. Right?
 
Right.
 
So here are two of the recipes I have found visually tasty of late. Tonight I will be making one of them and will (cross my fingers) fall madly in love with the taste of this particular creature of the sea.
Oh, I do hope so!
 
 
HONEY PECAN SALMON {from Aspiring Kennedy}
serves 2 | original recipe here




2 salmon fillets (England is so spoiled with cheap & fresh Scottish salmon.)
1/4 cup of breadcrumbs 
1/4 chopped pecans
2 tablespoons of mustard
2 tablespoons of honey
1 tablespoon of melted butter

1. Preheat your oven to 425F | 210C.
2. Mix breadcrumbs, pecans, honey, mustard & butter together.
3. Evenly spread the chunky mixture on top of the salmon fillets.
4. Place the salmon in the oven for 10-12 minutes, until the topping is golden brown (or darker in some areas because you got distracted.)
5. Take them out. Pat yourself on the back for making something amazing. Eat up!
 



 

Soy-Ginger Glazed Salmon {from carly klock}

 
Adapted from Food & Wine
Ingredients:
  • 1/3 c. soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons minced fresh ginger
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons honey
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dijon mustard
  • 2 teaspoons olive or peanut oil
  • 2 – 6 oz. salmon filets
  • black pepper
  • cilantro, for garnish
  1. In a small saucepan, combine the soy sauce and ginger and bring to a simmer. Remove from heat and stir in the honey and mustard.
  2. Heat the peanut/olive oil in a large nonstick ovenproof skillet. Season the salmon with pepper and add it to the skillet, skinned side up. (NO salt! The soy sauce takes care of that.) Cook over high heat until golden and crusty, 2 to 3 minutes. Turn the salmon and spoon the ginger-soy glaze on top. 
  3. If you like your fish well-done, you can transfer the pan to a 350-degree oven and finish for 5 minutes, or until cooked to your liking. 

I didn’t finish in the oven at all, but I like my salmon medium- rare.  I left The Stallion’s on longer because he likes his cooked through.  Just finish to your liking – and don’t be afraid to transfer to the oven.  You’ll eventually reach a smoking point if you try to cook it through on the stovetop – that step is really just to get a good sear.

 
 
 
 
 
Here’s to a hopefully healthy Friday!
 
And so it goes,
Katie
One thought on “hopefully healthy friday

Leave a Reply

