come on, dover!

Anyone besides my family members get the reference to My Fair Lady from the title of this post? Love it.

I’m so behind. Everyone posted on Facebook how thankful they were for their mothers and I was waiting to do it on a blog post and here it is, Tuesday, and I’m just now getting around to it. Ungrateful daughter, I am! For Mommy’s Day, my brothers, dad, and I took our mom to the horse races at Lone Star Park after church.

It was a full day of fun, including a surprise visit from my long-lost brother, Michael!

mom2

{I’m looking a little rough from getting poisoned the night before. Or at least that’s my theory.}

Luckily, we all came out even or even a few dollars ahead. The horses were gorgeous, weather was beautiful, and we had a blast eating crappy food and celebrating the greatest mom we could ever ask for.

If you’ve never been to the horse races, you have to go. It is SO much fun!

WP_20130512_001{on the way home from pwood}

mom1{mom was a little intense with the betting}

WP_20130512_009{the whole familia}

WP_20130512_011{mother/daughter and random lady}

WP_20130512_019{the goofballs}

WP_20130512_027{tywer!}

WP_20130512_028{aww, so thankful for these two}

……………….

In other news, I’m starting a new book, recommended to me by a guy friend who runs barefoot. It’s called Born to Run and is written by Christopher McDougall.

The synopsis according to Amazon.com…

“An epic adventure that began with one simple question: Why does my foot hurt?
Isolated by Mexico’s deadly Copper Canyons, the blissful Tarahumara Indians have honed the ability to run hundreds of miles without rest or injury. In a riveting narrative, award-winning journalist and often-injured runner Christopher McDougall sets out to discover their secrets. In the process, he takes his readers from science labs at Harvard to the sun-baked valleys and freezing peaks across North America, where ever-growing numbers of ultra-runners are pushing their bodies to the limit, and, finally, to a climactic race in the Copper Canyons that pits America’s best ultra-runners against the tribe. McDougall’s incredible story will not only engage your mind but inspire your body when you realize that you, indeed all of us, were born to run.”

I’m pretty excited about it and am also thinking about wearing these funky shoes in my future runs. What do yall think about them?? I really get weirded out about the toes and creepy rubbery-ness but they kind of remind me of my favorite animal and also my left hip majorly hurts when I run long distances so therefore I’m thinking about giving them a try. Wah, will I be *that* girl?!
and so it goes,
katie
One thought on “come on, dover!

Leave a Reply

