mondays are for sunshine and rainbows

I would like to tell you that I jumped out of bed this morning with a huge smile on my face, yanked my hair into a high pony, chug-a-lugged some water, hopped over for a little Camp Gladiator biz-nas, downed a protein shake,Β  showered, shaved, and beautified, and off to work I whistled!

INSTEAD I… snoozed and reset the alarm three times, yelled at the cat for keeping me up all. night. long, showered sans shaving (really, no one cares), let the hair air dry, made a protein shake, put it in the fridge for later, toasted some cinnamon pop-tarts instead, drank three cups of coffee, and turned on the computer with a frown that is definitely causing more wrinkle lines to appear, and started working.

I will say that I did get a few minutes of “me and God time” in, which was the best part of my day thus far. For those minutes, I felt calm, peaceful, and loved.

Then the real world shattered down my highest of hopes and work started eating at what little resolve I had to make this a happy morning.

Think maybe I’m acting a little bit like my mamaw’s sweet little cat, Prissy? (She isn’t my biggest fan.)

Does that angry sound put the fear in anyone else’s heart? I want her to like me so bad, but she’s just not gonna! I feel like Elmyra from Tiny Toons.

Now for Some Positive Thoughts:

  • The weather is gorgeous! It’s only 77 degrees out. Lovely!
  • I have a j-o-b and a pretty darn good one.
  • I have awesome friends like this girl who text me every morning to share the day’s excitement/let me complain.
  • Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:6-7)
  • It’s Independence Day week so a) fireworks, b) celebrate freedom, c) maybe a Rangers game, d) four day work week!
  • I get to wear jeans to work instead of stuffy clothes that I don’t love. The negative side of me wants to complain that I can’t wear sweatpants, but I’m trying to keep this a positive space. πŸ™‚

As the author of Today’s Letters (where I go for all my doses of positive medicine) says,

Here’s to gratitude and how it turns everything into enough.

On that note…

 

and so it goes,

katie

Leave a Reply

