the little things

When I step out of my house in the morning,
the red, orange, brown, and yellow leaves, paired with a refreshing, icy breeze
are the first wisps of fall that greet me.
As I hop down the three concrete steps, away from
my green door with the old-fashioned mail slit, I can’t help but get that
whimsical feeling of someone who is completely content and happy
in the moment.

falltree
{image via}

Sometimes I wish I could freeze the moment–
the park across the street with kiddos, moms, and dogs,
the crunch of the leaves, the magic of the air and colors and sounds.
Engaging in that moment is something really special that I treasure.
It is during these moments in time that
I am reminded that “I am His and He is enough,”
and that God is everywhere and in everything and completely in control.

And even when that moment is gone and work is hectic
and I forget to set the alarm and have to go back upstairs
and spill my coffee on my white shirt which is the most inevitable occurrence of all time,
and people come to mow and bag away my beautiful canvas of leaves,
I can use those glimpses of goodness to remember who He is,
and who I am in Him.
{See 2 Corinthians 5:17, Romans 8:1, 1 Peter 2:9, and Ephesians 2:10}

What are the things that make you feel most content and reminded of God’s goodness?

and so it goes,

katie

Leave a Reply

