sometimes you just need pie

Since the weather decided to be freezing a while back,
I decided to not grace the world with my presence.
Take that, snow day!
However, the empty toilet paper basket in my apartment had alternate plans for me.

So I bundled up in three jackets, two pants, gloves, and my Ugg boots,
and, looking really cool, left the house in search of the T.P. aisle at Tom Thumb.

snow
{what I wish I looked like in the snow}
bundle-up
{the probable reality}

The bright icy white of the outdoors must have triggered the baking bug within me
because I ended up following my nose to the sweets aisle and getting several items beside my beloved cha-cha-cha Charmin.

Upon my arrival back to the land of heaters, I defrosted my fingers and made a

Reese’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Pie!

Three weeks later, with warm weather and plenty of sunshine under our belt, I find myself craving the frozen treat once again.

What better excuse for sweet treats than a birthday?!

Michael and Tyler will be turning 24 this Saturday and since Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
are Michael’s favorite thing in the world,
making him this pie seems like the decent thing to do.
🙂

mandt
{windy day pic}

Passed to me from a friend, here is the recipe for your new favorite dessert:

1 1/2 cups cold half and half
1 package chocolate instant pudding
3 1/2 cups (8 oz.) Cool Whip (thawed)
1 {generous} cup chopped Reese’s Cup candies
1 package chocolate crumb crust (Oreo crust)

Pour milk into a large bowl. Add pudding mix. Beat with a wire whisk until well blended (about 1 minute). Let stand for 5 minutes. While you’re waiting, chop up the peanut butter candies to be extra productive.

pbcups
{snag a few while chopping–they lose calories when broken}

Fold in the whipped topping and crushed candies. {I like mine all stirred up so there aren’t little Cool Whip surprises but maybe you feel otherwise!} Spoon all the goodness into the Oreo crust then cover it and put it in the freezer until firm (about 6 hours or overnight).
Remove from freezer and let it stand for 10 minutes to soften a bit before serving.
Serve it up and prepare to make another very very soon!

Have a very happy Tuesday, and make this pie for someone you love!

and so it goes,
katie

Leave a Reply

