spoon sippin’ good

For some reason unbeknownst to me, the weather got all cold and gross again in Dallas.
To skip over the complaints and skip right to the bright sides…
1. I got to rest instead of run around busily this weekend
2. Bed and movies, bed and books, bed and sleep — does it get any better?!
3. Mexican Chicken Soup!

fort{source}

Number 3 is the most delicious thing. I used to turn my nose to it when my mom would make it because, you know, it has vegetables in it.
But don’t you worry, I’ve since come to my senses and could eat it for breakfast, lunch, second lunch, dinner, and midnight snack.

Since I’m pretty bad about cataloging recipes for myself
(and have to ask my mom to send it to me every time I want to make it–whoops),
I figured this was a pretty good place to keep it.
Plus, maybe one of my 10 readers wants to make it for their loved ones!

Mexican Chicken Soup

The main players:
*2 Cans Stewed Tomatoes (Mexican Recipe)
*2 cans Rotel
2 cans Hominy
2 cans Mexicorn
2 cans chili beans
5 chicken breasts, boiled and cut up
2 cans chicken broth
1 packet Ranch seasoning
1 packet Taco seasoning

soup

*sometimes it’s nice to blend these up so it’s not so chunky, but I’m a baby soooooo…

Bulk up those forearm muscles and open all billion cans and pour them in no certain order into your giant pot. Take your shredded/cut chicken and put it in there too. Then your seasonings. If you don’t want it as spicy, don’t add the whole packet of taco seasoning. Simple!
Hopefully you have a really big pot. I’ve had mine overflow before. Amateur hour.
Put it on the hot stove and stir it up every now and then. The longer it sits there, the longer the flavors mesh together. It’s delightful.

To Brent’s utter joy, I didn’t make him wait for me to take pictures before eating.
So I have none of the finished product but I think it’s pretty simple to figure out.
We enjoyed our soup with some homemade guac (use this recipe if you don’t have your own), totopos, and a beer from Community brewery.
And of course the final episode of House of Cards (finally!).

Stay cozy. I’m hoping for extra sunny weather the rest of the week!

and so it goes,
katie

Leave a Reply

