not just a load of soggy brown stuff

In Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Harry and Ron take that ridiculous Divination course where they have to read each other’s tea leaves.
(#nerdalert)
While I don’t drink tea to predict my future, I do love a good cup after the initial coffee of the morning.

tea1{source}

I used to think tea was the most disgusting thing ever, and that is because I grew up only knowing about the cold liquid we Texans call sweet tea.
I still won’t touch the stuff.
But what changed my mind about the other?

Flash back a few years ago to the English building (Carroll Science) at Baylor.
Every Friday we would gather with the professors to drink hot tea that we could retrieve from a pretty little wooden box and make in miniature Styrofoam cups. One club or another would provide cookies or lemon bars and we would all stand around and chat in the common area.
I adored this time.
(#nerdalertagain)
It made me feel grown up and the professors are all brilliant and interesting and well-travelled. Being a shy writing student, I never grew tired of observing their confidence and
wondering when I would get mine.
It was a really cool tradition that led me to enjoying tea today
(despite the fact that I used to merely pretend to sip the tea then promptly flush it back in college).

Have you ever heard of DAVIDsTEA?
Beside the occasional traditional packet of Bigelow Mint Medley, DAVIDs is my very favorite.

My current loves are:
Cinnamon Rooibos Chai
Forever Nuts
Sweet Dreams

tea2{source}

I’m a big fan of any of these with a little drizzle of honey and mmm mmm, happiness!

Let me know if you fall in love with any other flavor so we can be tea buddies.
I’m a total newb at this fancy tradition so am all ears!

and so it goes,
katie

Leave a Reply

