plan of attack: chicago

chicago2{source}

My family and I + Brent are temporarily shipping ourselves off to Chicago in SIXTEEN days(!), and after the hell of yesterday’s (record high!) volcano-worthy weather in Dallas, I am counting down those days with even more vigor.

I know the weekend we are there will go by so quickly, but we are packing things in so tightly, I have no doubt we will “see it all.” Plus, when you’ve got Jan, researcher extraordinaire, who needs neither rest nor sleep, there’s not a lot of opportunity to miss any of the important stuff.

So far I’m most excited to:

ooo and ahh on the Chicago Architecture Foundation River Cruise
be mind-blown at the Art Institute of Chicago
see famous Wrigley Field
and
pee my pants laughing at Second City

But, you know me, the food is what I’ve put the most thought and planning into.
I have harassed everyone I can think of to get restaurant recommendations, called and struck out at a few, and finally landed on (so far)….

Breakfast at Little Goat Diner upon arrival
Lou Malnati’s for some ‘za
Piccolo Sogno and
Viaggio for great Italian
and
Billy Goat Tavern,
Trump Tower,
Milk & Honey,
Fanny May’s,
and Garrett’s for some snacks and sips.

Plus, I know we have to find a good Chicago dog somewhere… oh man, I need to hop on a treadmill just thinking about all of this…

Luckily, or should I say strategically, most of the fall outfits I’m planning to bring revolve around non-binding leggings and jackets and foodbabybelly hiding scarves.

and so it goes,
katie

Leave a Reply

