all about dem bears and other weekendish things

This weekend promises to be great. Busy, of course, but great. As my family knows all too well, I like to take a birthday month instead of just a solitary day. This tradition was put in place by my parents and I am determined to carry it on! The month of October has been peppered with fun birthday surprises, as well as celebrating other friend’s birthdays. One such event includes tonight’s celebratory, indulgent dinner with Brent at Nonna. That lobster ravioli is calling my name, loud and clear.

On Saturday, I look forward to being back in Brent’s good graces by cheering on his TCU Horned Frogs to beat OSU. Go Frogs!

Having said that, I must also post this week’s Baylor Hype Video. It’s a good one. Sic WVU!!

Hopefully Sunday will be relaxing and maybe I’ll do a little Chicago trip planning after church since it’s coming up so soon! We have all of our meals planned but are a tad fuzzy on the logistics of the in-between time.

I also really want to see the Kimbell’s new Faces of Impressionism – Portraits from the Musée d’Orsay exhibit. Can’t relax for too long!

{The following images taken from the Kimbell Art Museum website.}

manet_balcony_detail
Édouard Manet
The Balcony, 1868–69
Oil on canvas, 66 7/8 × 49 1/4 in. (170 × 125 cm)
Musée d’Orsay, Paris

monet_studyofafigureinnature_detail_0

Claude Monet
Study of a Figure in Nature: Woman with an Umbrella Turned to the Right, 1886
Oil on canvas, 51 3/8 × 35 3/16 in. (130.5 × 89.3 cm)
Musée d’Orsay, Paris
Gift of Michel Monet, 1927

degas_orchestraopera_detail

Edgar Degas
The Orchestra of the Opera, 1868–69
Oil on canvas, 22 1/4 × 18 1/8 in. (56.5 × 46 cm)
Musée d’Orsay, Paris

Some people are so talented. I always think it would be so cool to have studied Art History in school and to be the person who can tell you all about a painting or sculpture. Unfortunately, I’m not that cultured, and in fact, have actually never visited the Kimbell before. It has been on my list of to-do’s in Dallas for some time now. I know it’s so cliché of me to say this but…Fort Worth is just so FAR! I’ll get there eventually. And hopefully will come back with my brain box full of fun facts about oils and paints and artists and their lives and struggles.

Happy Weekending!

and so it goes,
km

Leave a Reply

