#shesharestruth – what’s in a name?

In my quiet time this morning (reading She Reads Truth – they have an awesome app too), I was struck by a thought that I have faced many times in my life; it’s something that, I think, many women struggle with (and maybe men too, but they don’t quite paint their emotions on their faces, do they?) — we are not named by our circumstances.

shesharestruth

In the book of Ruth, Naomi, overcome by grief that her two sons and husband are dead, renames herself Mara, meaning “Bitter.” She had given up hope that God had a plan of redemption and beauty to bring out of the pile of dirt she was under. But as she would soon see, God had other plans that went far beyond Naomi’s circumstances, which she could not see past. Sneaky God…although Naomi had called it quits and lost hope, God brought love and healing from tragedy in her life.

My life doesn’t seem that tough compared to Ruth and Naomi’s struggles, but that doesn’t change the fact that I buy into Satan’s lie that I should go ahead and call it quits and rename myself sometimes. Names that I think would fit me real nicely sometimes are:

  • Failure
  • Alone
  • Unclean
  • Insecure
  • Worrier
  • Not Good Enough

But God tells us that in with Him, our failures become meaningful and we are able to handle it (Hebrews 12:1, Philippians 4:11-13, Psalm 34:18) ; we are never alone (Matthew 28:20); He washes our scars clean (Romans 8:1-2, Isaiah 53:5-6); we have security in His love, and in our weaknesses, God is made stronger (2 Corinthians 12:9); worrying is a s doesn’t add one hour to ur lives – if He takes care of the flowers and the bests he will take care of us too (Matthew 6:26); that In Christ we are worth more than any precious gem – to our God we were worth paying the ultimate sacrifice – death on a cross – for our ugly sins (Romans 5:6-8, Philippians 2:5-11, 2 Corinthians 5:21).

42-e1402945447183

Ew ew ew, I am the QUEEN of believing the lies instead of God’s sovereign Truth. So this week (…month, year, lifetime), my goal is to only be mindful of the names that Jesus calls me, and to not give myself other, untrue names.

Think of some names you give yourself and then think of the truths that disproves them. Let’s make this a great, Jesus-filled, uplifting week!

and so it goes,
katie

Leave a Reply

